Pictured here with Sarah one of his granddaughtersAbout Dad

I am delighted to be writing a few words about my Dad, Peter Robert Phillips, for this website, Sarah our youngest daughter’s idea, together with Joe my husband they made it happen. I think Dad would have been as delighted as I am.

All the images on the site were initially photographed by Sarah as her chosen selection of the many hundreds of sketches, drawings and paintings Dad did during his long life. Some now hang on the walls in the homes of family and friends, still more are in our attic, some donated to charity and some sadly destroyed as Dad was prolific and a hoarder- we could not keep them all !!!

Dad was born in Carshalton, Surrey in 1928. He was one of three children, together with his brother Richard, they demonstrated an early talent for art and design. The family have a collection of diaries where as a child, Dad drew detailed illustrations of dog fights over Carshalton during the London blitz. Richard had several political cartoons published in the London Evening News before his untimely death at the end of the war.

Dad worked as an artist, graphic designer and cartoonist all his life, as a career and as a hobby. I recall him working in Fleet Street when I was a child, later transferring to Sutton while working for the former International Publishing Corporation, the so called Mirror Group. He also freelanced for many years, earning extra income and as a way of gaining additional experience. He was one the pioneers of study with the Open University gaining an art degree in the 1960’s. Later Dad taught art, particularly portrait drawing for many years with the Open University. He drew, painted, illustrated and enjoyed teaching many aspects of art and design until the last months of his life.

I hope this website achieves its aim of offering a varied selection of Dad’s work for others to appreciate his talent.

Jenny Wall (nee Phillips) July 2015.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.